Kavli Celebrates Two of its PIs Becoming Professors

Kavli Celebrates Two of its PIs Becoming Professors


The Kavli Institute for Nanoscience Discovery is proud to announce that two of its Principal Investigators (PIs) have been awarded title of Full Professor.


madhavi krishnan main photo

Professor Madhavi Krishnan

Simon Kyle Main Photo

Professor Simon Kyle



Madhavi Krishnan, in the Department of Chemistry, has been recognised for her groundbreaking research that delves into the intricate world of molecular-level interactions and transport at the nanometer scale in fluids. Using a blend of experimental methods, theoretical frameworks, and simulations, Krishnan's group has shed new light on the electrostatic interactions pervasive in chemical and biological systems. One of their remarkable achievements is the stable trapping of single molecules in solution in three dimensions, a feat accomplished using equilibrium thermodynamics. This breakthrough represents a paradigm shift in a century-old effort, which primarily relied on externally applied electromagnetic fields to manipulate matter at the molecular level.

Simon Kyle, in the Nuffield Department of Clinical Neurosciences (NDCN), has been acknowledged for his exceptional contributions to understanding the aetiology and management of sleep disturbances and their complex interplay with mental health. Kyle's work is of paramount importance in a world where sleep health is increasingly recognized as vital to overall well-being. He also serves as an Associate Editor of the journal Behavioural Sleep Medicine.

The Kavli Institute extends sincere congratulations to Professors Madhavi Krishnan and Simon Kyle for their remarkable achievements and looks forward to their continued contributions to advancing science and knowledge.

Since April 2021, Oxford University's KAVLI Institute for Nanoscience Discovery is proudly serving as a hub for research groups from seven different departments spanning both the medical and physical sciences, including Professor Madhavi Krishnan Group from the Department of Chemistry and Professor Simon Kyle's Group from the NDCN.