ERC Advanced Grant to our Director Professor Dame Carol Robinson

Four researchers from the University of Oxford have received European Research Council (ERC) Advanced Grants worth €2.5 million each over a period of five years. The grants are intended to support their most innovative and ambitious ideas, and are awarded to researchers who have a proven history of substantial research accomplishments. This recognition highlights the cutting-edge nature of the projects led by these researchers.


It's our great pleasure to share that the Kavli Institute for Nanoscience Discovery's Director and Department of Chemistry Professor, Dame Carol Robinson is one of these four researchers alongside Professor Craig MacLeanProfessor Tim Coulson and Professor Neil Brockdorff.


Carol has received an ERC Advanced Grant to explore the potential clinical applications of her mass spectrometry technology. With extensive experience in using mass spectrometry to gather comprehensive data on protein structure, binding partners, and dynamics, Professor Robinson aims to develop novel techniques to correlate the status of an intact protein receptor or transporter with its modifications and environment during disease progression. The ultimate goal of this research is to identify new targets for cancer treatment.


Professor Robinson said: ‘I am delighted to receive this award. It will allow us to explore unchartered territory with approaches that I have spent my whole career developing. I am grateful to all of my team members – their ideas and willingness to push boundaries have allowed us to propose entirely new directions. I look forward to working with them, as well as our new collaborators at the Oxford Cancer Centre, to achieve our goals.’

Carol Robinson at the Mass Spectrometry Lab


Since April 2021, Oxford University's KAVLI Institute for Nanoscience Discovery is proudly serving as a hub for research groups from seven different departments spanning both the medical and physical sciences, including Professor Carol Robinson's Group from the Department of Chemistry.